Serenata notturna

2017 October 7, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Soloist JOANA DAUNYTĖ (harp)
With the participation of GIUNTER PERCUSSION

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Serenade for orchestra No. 6 in D major, KV 239 (Serenata notturna)
JOSEPH HAYDN – Symphony No. 59 in A major, Hob. I:59 (Feuersinfonie)
LEONARD BERNSTEIN – Serenade for violin, strings, harp and percussion

The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra starts up its new concert season on their home stage and together with its artistic director and violinist Sergej Krylov offer a versatile and enriching programme. The concert will open with Mozart’s Serenade for orchestra No 6 in D major (Serenata Notturna), which enjoys as great popularity as his Eine kleine Nachtmusik. Nobility most often commissioned serenades for receptions, open-air public events, weddings and birthdays. Haydn’s Symphony No 59 in A major was nicknamed Feuersinfonie (Fire Symphony) by his contemporaries – assumingly its music seemed to be quite fiery for the day. 

After intermission the musicians will offer Bernstein’s opus, which is very rarely performed in Lithuania – Serenade for violin, strings, harp and percussion. Commissioned by the Koussevitzky Foundation in 1954, the Serenade was premiered in La Fenice (Venice) with Bernstein himself on the podium. Serenade is a five-movement concerto with the violin the most prominent solo instrument. The work can therefore be considered a violin concerto.  For the Serenade the composer drew inspiration from Plato’s Symposium, a dialogue of related statements in praise of love.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30, 35 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: