Back to home page   Performers   SERGEJ KRYLOV – Artistic Director of the LCO   Events archive  
Farewell Symphony for the Old Year

Farewell Symphony for the Old Year

2018 December 31, Monday, 17.55
Sts. Johns' Church (Šv. Jono st. 12), Vilnius
Farewell Symphony for the Old Year

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH – Concerto for oboe, violin and orchestra in C minor, BWV 1060
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH – Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
JOSEPH HAYDN – Symphony No. 45 in F sharp minor (Abschieds-Symphonie), Hob. I:45

With year coming to an end, we reflect on Lithuania’s foremost anniversary. On occasion of the centenary of the Restoration of the State of Lithuania we presented the world with our best musical examples. The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra has shared our celebration with Estonian, French, Polish, Lebanese, Italian and Swiss audiences. The Orchestra has saluted this anniversary together with pianist Mūza Rubackytė and conductor Robertas Šervenikas in gala concert held in Gaveau Hall in Paris.

For this concert the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra offers works by Bach and Haydn. In Bach’s Concerto for oboe, violin and orchestra in C minor the LCO will share the stage with violinist and artistic director of the orchestra Sergej Krylov, and young oboist Pijus Paškevičius. 

The sixteen-year-old oboist is a winner of a number of international competitions. As a soloist he has appeared with the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, Kaliningrad Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra, Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra and Swizz ensemble Esperanza, collaborated with conductors David Geringas, Olivier Grangean, Juozas Domarkas, Robertas Šervenikas and Modestas Barkauskas. Paškevičius’ repertoire includes opuses by Bach, Vivaldi, Albinoni, Cimarosa, Marcello, Mozart, Schumann, Saint-Saëns, Poulenc, etc.

Possibly, it is the National Philharmonic’s oldest New Year Eve concert tradition – to bid farewell to the Old Year with Haydn’s Abschiedssinfonie. For almost 50 years the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra has been performing the legendary opus in a vanishing candlelight …

Ticket prices
15 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: