Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Vilnius String Quartet and Oboe

Vilnius String Quartet and Oboe

2018 December 9, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius
Vilnius String Quartet and Oboe

BERNHARD HENRIK CRUSELL – Divertimento for oboe and string quartet, Op. 9
BENJAMIN BRITTEN – Phantasy Quartet for oboe, violin, viola and cello, Op. 2
DMITRY SHOSTAKOVICH – Quartet No. 1 in C major, Op. 49
ERWIN SCHULHOFF – Five pieces for string quartet

This afternoon Vilnius String Quartet teams up with young oboist Viktor Palej. He is a four-time winner of J. Pakalnis Competition, a gold medallist of the Lithuanian Oboe Championship 2005–2006, a laureate of L. Vėbra International Competition and first prize winner of the 21st Century Art International Competition in Kiev.

Palej is a member of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. In this concert he will join the colleagues in Phantasy Quartet written by English composer Benjamin Britten in 1932 and Divertimento by Bernhard Henrik Crusell, a Swedish-Finnish classical composer active in 18th–19th centuries.

Shostakovich wrote his first string quartet in 1938 on a request of Glazunov Quartet. According to the composer, no special idea or emotions had stimulated him to write it. “Yet later on the work absorbed me to the extent that I completed the quartet extraordinarily rapidly. It would be foolish to seek anything profound in it. It is a lyrically gleeful work, which I would call the ‘Spring Quartet.” The concert will close with Five Pieces for String Quartet by Erwin Schulhoff, a 20th c. Czech composer of tragic destiny. These colourful and vibrantly rhythmical pieces abound with grotesque gestures.

Ticket prices
7, 10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: