Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Modestas Pitrėnas and Narek Hakhnazaryan

Modestas Pitrėnas and Narek Hakhnazaryan

2019 May 10, Friday, 19.00
Compensa Concert Hall, Vilnius
Modestas Pitrėnas and Narek Hakhnazaryan

ALFREDO CASELLA – Divertimento for orchestra Paganiniana, Op. 65 

IGOR STRAVINSKY – Suite from the ballet Firebird

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK – Concerto for cello and orchestra in B minor, Op. 104 

The Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and its artistic director Modestas Pitrėnas close their 78th concert season with a memorable concert in which the Lithuanians collaborate with Armenian cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan, the gold medallist at the Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition (2011). Former scholarship student of Rostropovich Charity and Support Foundation, the cellist has already appeared in prestigious halls like Carnegie Hall in New York, Kennedy Center in Washington D.C., collaborated with London, Chicago and other symphony orchestras under the direction of V. Gergiev, T. Koopman, etc. Tonight Hakhnazaryan performs Antonín Dvořák’s Concerto for cello and orchestra in B minor. It is a challenging three-movement composition charged with utmost emotion spanning from love elegy and lacrimosa tension to menacing march, from the composer’s idiosyncratic style and Czech folklore to the hints of the New World culture (the opus was written in New York where at the time Dvořák served as a rector at the National Conservatoire).

In addition, the LNSO offers two symphonic works: Italian composer Alfred Casella’s cheerful Divertimento (a musical tribute to Paganini) and Russian composer Igor Stravinsky’s Suite, an assortment of excerpts from his ballet based on Russian folktale.

Ticket prices
20, 30, 50, 70 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: