Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Modestas Pitrėnas and Narek Hakhnazaryan

Modestas Pitrėnas and Narek Hakhnazaryan

2019 May 11, Saturday, 19.00
Klaipėda Concert Hall, Other location
Modestas Pitrėnas and Narek Hakhnazaryan

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Triple Concerto for violin, cello and piano in C major, Op. 56 

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK – Concerto for cello and orchestra in B minor, Op. 104 

In anticipation of the closing of its 78th concert season, the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and its artistic director Modestas Pitrėnas welcome Klaipėda audience to a memorable concert in which the Lithuanians collaborate with Armenian cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan, the gold medal winner at the Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition (2011). Former scholarship student of Rostropovich Charity and Support Foundation, the cellist has already appeared in prestigious halls like Carnegie Hall in New York, Kennedy Center in Washington D.C., collaborated with London, Chicago and other symphony orchestras under the direction of V. Gergiev, T. Koopman, etc. Tonight Hakhnazaryan will perform Antonín Dvořák’s Concerto for cello and orchestra in B minor. It is a challenging three-movement composition charged with utmost emotion spanning from love elegy and lacrimosa tension to menacing march, from the composer’s idiosyncratic style and Czech folklore to the hints of the New World culture (the opus was written in New York where at the time the composer served as a rector at the National Conservatoire).

The concert programme also features Beethoven’s Triple Concerto often overshadowed by the Viennese classicist’s famous Fourth and Fifth Piano Concertos as well as Violin Concerto. The audience considered the Triple Concerto to be an anachronism for it was written as a Baroque Concerto grosso juxtaposing a small group of soloists with full orchestra. In the beginning, the Concerto was performed in private venues most often nobility salons, but eventually its mastery and originality made it to concert halls. Tonight the Triple Concerto is rendered by Lithuanian musicians – pianist Petras Geniušas, violinist Vilhelmas Čepinskis and cellist Vytautas Sondeckis.

Ticket prices
14, 18 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: