Christmas Caprices

2017 December 26, Tuesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Christmas Caprices

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Symphony No. 1 in E-flat major, KV 16
SERGEI PROKOFIEV – Visions Fugitives No. 1, 2, 3, 4 (instrumentation by Rudolf Barshai)
SERGEI PROKOFIEV – Visions Fugitives No. 8, 9, 10, 13 (instrumentation by Rudolf Barshai)
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Symphony No.15 in G major, KV 124
NICCOLÒ PAGANINI – Caprice No. 9 (transcription by Edison Denisov); Caprice No. 10 (transcription by Giedrius Kuprevičius); Caprice No. 21 (transcription by Edison Denisov); Caprice No. 22 (transcription by Giedrius Kuprevičius). Variations on one string on a theme from Gioacchino Rossini’s opera Moses in Egypt (Mosè in Egitto) for violin and orchestra; Cantabile; La Campanella

As a tradition, on the second day of Christmas the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall is graced by the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and Maestro Sergej Krylov.

The programme features two symphonies by Mozart: Symphony No 1 in E flat major, KV 16 was written in 1764 when the eight-year-old Wolfgang was on tour in London. This opus displays the influence of Leopold Mozart and J.S Bach’s sons. Symphony No 15 in G major, KV 124 was composed in 1772 in honour of the new Archbishop of Salzburg.

Krylov will also perform music by Paganini – Caprices (transcribed by E. Denisov and G. Kuprevičius), Variations on one string on a theme from Rossini’s opera Moses in Egypt (Mosè in Egitto), also Cantabile and La Campanella. These virtuoso and challenging opuses receive plaudits from any audience anywhere. R. Barshai’s instrumentation of Visions Fugitives by Prokofiev will revisit the 20th century.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: