Concerto for Three Violins

2018 September 22, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Concerto for Three Violins

FELIX MENDELSSOHN-BARTHOLDY – Concerto for violin, piano and orchestra in D minor, MWV O4
ALFRED SCHNITTKE – Suite in the Old Style
OLLI MUSTONEN – Concerto for three violins and orchestra

For the opening of its concert season on its residence stage, the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and its artistic director, violinist and conductor Sergej Krylov present a manifold and rich programme.

Tonight’s other soloists are violinists Džeraldas Bidva and Rusnė Mataitytė. Bidva is a concertmaster of both Kremerata Baltica chamber orchestra and the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, often appears as a soloist and chamber musician, has been a guest-player in many prestigious festivals such as Salzburg, Lockenhaus, Gstaad, Les Muséiques in Basel, etc. Mataitytė has given concerts in Wiener Konzerthaus, Carnegie Hall and St. John’s Smith Square. Composers O. Balakauskas, A. Martinaitis and S. Harrison have dedicated their violin concertos to Mataitytė, which she has premiered with the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra.

Resident of Germany, pianist Kristina Miller is a graduate of St Petersburg, Munich and Vienna conservatoires. Since the age of twelve, she played concerts in Europe, the United States, Australia and South America and appeared as a soloist with orchestras such as Berliner Camerata and the Capella State Symphony Orchestra St. Petersburg to name but a few.

The concert opens with Mendelssohn’s Concerto for violin, piano and orchestra in D minor, MWV 04. The composer wrote this opus at the age of 13, which attests to his phenomenal mastery. Solo and orchestral parts of this impressive composition reveal J. S. Bach’s influence on young Mendelssohn.

In 1972, Schnittke wrote Suite in the Old Style for violin and piano. It is an alloy of Russian, Jewish and American music traditions hinted at the past. According to Schnittke, with this opus he bridged serious and entertainment music. Oddly post-Shostakovichian composition brims with soviet cinematographic images.

Finnish pianist, conductor and composer Olli Mustonen has collaborated with the world’s leading orchestras – Berlin, London and Los Angeles philharmonics, Chicago, Cleveland and Philadelphia symphony orchestras, Royal Concertgebouw, etc. In his music Mustonen merges neo-classical, neo-baroque, romantic and minimalist idioms. Stravinsky, Respighi and Martinů were the biggest influences for Mustonen as a composer. He composed Concerto for three violins in 1998.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: