Tango nuevo

2018 December 29, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Tango nuevo

Tango nuevo: compositions by Tania Naranjo, Minna Weurlander, Saúl Cosentino, Astor Piazzolla

“The two musicians are exquisitely skilled instrumentalists; their music is brimming with passion, melancholy, virtuosity and joy”; “The music flows virtuosically; simple and clean, but not without drama and playfulness. Naranjo’s talented experimenting with sounds on the piano along with Weurlander’s captivating accordion opens the senses”, press described the Duo of Chilean pianist Tania Naranjo and Finnish accordionist Minna Weurlander. Along with its own original compositions the Duo plays various arrangements based on Tango Nuevo. Indeed, Naranjo and Weurlander drew their creative impulse and ideas from Ástor Piazzolla, the founder of Tango Nuevo. Based on jazz and classical forms, his compositions formed totally new harmonic and rhythmic vocabulary and moved the passionate dance from clubs to concert stages.

Čiurlionis Quartet, celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, has collaborated with the international Duo in the past. The Quartet’s programmes always offer new ideas and collaborations with musicians of various fields. Next to classical repertoire and contemporary music premieres, their repertoire intrigues with unexpected programmes spanning from popular film melodies to eq / electronics for quartet. In anticipation of the New Year, the Quartet and charming Naranjo and Weurlander Duo invite to delve into passionate and nostalgic Tango sonority so dear to Lithuanian soul.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66
E-mail: info@filharmonija.lt

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: