Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Transfigured Night

Transfigured Night

2019 October 26, Saturday, 19.00
Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania Great Renaissance Hall, Vilnius
Soloist DARKO BRLEK (clarinet)
Transfigured Night

ERNEST BLOCH – Concerto grosso No. 1, B. 59
CARL MARIA VON WEBER –  Quintet for Clarinet and Strings, op. 34
ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG – „Verklärte Nacht“, op. 4

Tonight the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra collaborates with Slovenian clarinettist Darko Brlek and conductor Modestas Pitrėnas, the artistic director of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. On July 6, the Day of Statehood and National Anthem, the President Dalia Grybauskaitė decorated Modestas Pitrėnas with the Cross of Commander of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 

A recipient of a number of Slovenian and international awards, clarinettist Brlek has performed under the baton of K. Penderecki, M. Letonja, A. Nanut, Y. Bashmet, E. Rabakov and L. Petitgard, collaborated with Bartók, Kodály and Debussy string quartets, Moscow and German chamber orchestras, Mexican State SO, Lithuanian National SO, Cannes SO and others. Tonight he will be the soloist in Weber’s Quintet for clarinet and strings, Op. 34. Thirty years younger than Mozart, Carl Maria von Weber’s output as a composer, conductor and music critic is already permeated with romantic ideas. Employing elements of German folklore, Weber has saturated his music with the beauty of German landscape, forest and the sentiment of rural life.  

The concert will open with Concerto grosso No. 1, B. 59 by Ernest Bloch, a lesser known in Lithuania but a very productive Swiss/American composer of Jewish heritage. He was greatly influenced by Richard Strauss and Debussy. Many of Bloch’s works are injected by Jewish themes. His musical output includes the opera Macbeth, five symphonies, symphonic poems, rhapsodies and large amount of religious opuses. 

Arnold Schönberg, an Austrian composer and the founder of the New Viennese School, composed several versions of Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night) first appearing in 1899, and the one for string orchestra – in 1917.  The fact that the composer returned to the score three times shows how important it was for him. This program work was inspired by German poet Richard Dehmel’s Verklärte Nacht, an expressionist poem published in the collection Weib und Welt (Woman and World), describing a man and woman walking through a dark forest on a moonlight night. 

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: