Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Symphony of Life

Symphony of Life

2020 February 29, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Soloist RUSNĖ MATAITYTĖ (violin)
Symphony of Life

FERENC LISZT – Symphonic poem No. 13 Von der Wiege bis zum Grabe (From the Cradle to the Grave), S. 107. In memoriam Andrejs Žagars
BÉLA BARTÓK – Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 1, Sz. 36, BB 48a
ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK - Symphony No 7 in D minor, Op. 70

A year ago, on February 26, 2019, Andrejs Žagars, a long-time Director General of the Latvian National Opera (LNO), movie and theatre actor, and opera director, has passed away. Thanks to his visionary efforts, the Latvian National Opera has reached strikingly high artistic standards, and the soloists under his patronage garnered international recognition. Under Žagars’ direction the Latvian NO has collaborated with many a Lithuanian musician, including conductors Gintaras Rinkevičius and Modestas Pitrėnas, theatre director Gintaras Varnas, singers Asmik Grigorian and Irena Milkevičiūtė, and many others. In 2013, Žagars put his only production in Lithuania – Wagner’s Lohengrin (at the Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre). Thus, tonight in memory of Andrejs Žagars the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra led by Maestro Modestas Pitrėnas will perform Liszt’s symphonic poem Von der Wiege bis zum Grabe (From the Cradle to the Grave). The three movements of this opus, composed in Rome in 1881–1882, reflect the life path of both an artist and layman – meaningful journey from childhood towards the greatest endeavours.

Violinist Rusnė Mataitytė will perform the First Violin Concerto by Béla Bartók, one of the foremost Hungarian composers of the 20th century. He composed the work in 1908 but did not live long enough to hear its first performance – the opus was premiered in 1958, 13 years after his death. Tonight’s concert will end with Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony, the first of his Three Great Symphonies. This work of perfect structure and enthralling flair was inspired by Brahms’ Third Symphony.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: