Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Sorcerer and His Apprentices

Sorcerer and His Apprentices

2020 September 19, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Sorcerer and His Apprentices

CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS – Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78 (Organ)
MANUEL DE FALLA – Three dances from the ballet The Three-Cornered Hat
PAUL DUKAS – Symphonic scherzo L’apprenti sorcier (The Sorcerer’s Apprentice)
RICHARD STRAUSS – Sophie, Marschallin and Octavian final trio from the 3rd act of the opera Der Rosenkavalier, Op. 59

The epigraph for the concert Sorcerer and His Apprentices was inspired by an extremely colourful and illustrative musical score Sorcerer and His Apprentice, the cheerful symphonic scherzowritten at the end of the 19th century by the French composer Paul Dukas. The epigraph conveys this evening’s dedication and musical gratitude to Juozas Domarkas, one of the foremost conductors of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. The maestro has been associated with this orchestra for more than half a century, having first met the orchestra in 1957 as a listener (attending an orchestra concert on the old Palanga summer stage), and since 1964 having stood at the orchestra’s helm and led the orchestra for many years. Maestro Domarkas can be called the originator of the Lithuanian symphony orchestra tradition as well as the founder of the Lithuanian school of symphonism. On his initiative, a department of symphonic conducting was established at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre. Maestro himself has educated a number of outstanding conductors. Tonight, three of his disciples appear on the stage: Modestas Barkauskas, an artistic director and principal conductor of the St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, Dainius Pavilionis, a conductor of the Lithuanian Armed Forces Orchestra, and Modestas Pitrėnas, to whom maestro handed over the leadership of the LNSO five years ago. The concert also features organist Renata Marcinkutė-Lesieur and singers Gunta Gelgotė, Viktorija Miškūnaitė and Anastasia Lebedyantseva.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 25 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: