Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Pelléas and Mélisande

Pelléas and Mélisande

2017 February 4, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Pelléas and Mélisande

IGNACY FELIKS DOBRZYŃSKI – Concerto for piano and orchestra in A-flat major, Op. 2
ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG– Symphonic poem Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5

This symphonic music concert, featuring rarely performed music in Lithuania, could easily be described as an evening for music gourmands. The performing forces include Robertas Šervenikas, a master of the baton, the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and pianist Aleksandra Žvirblytė, a member of the famous Lithuanian musicians’ dynasty. The performers offer Concerto for piano and orchestra by Ignacy Feliks Dobrzyński, a Polish composer and pianist, a disciple of Józef Elsner; the legendary Polish piano pedagogue. In addition to this romantic composition tonight’s programme presents Pelleas und Melisande, an early composition by Austrian innovator Arnold Schönberg. In this opus written in the beginning the 20th century the composer still revels in romanticist harmonies and sonorities with his fascination in dodecaphonic music being just around the corner.


Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: