Back to home page   What's on   All events  
From Bach to Glass

From Bach to Glass

2020 March 14, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
From Bach to Glass

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH – Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor (instrumentation by Leopold Stokowski)
PHILIP GLASS – Violin Concerto No. 1
SERGEI RACHMANINOV – Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 44

Tonight Sergej Krylov, the artistic director and conductor of the National Philharmonic Society’s another orchestra, appears as a violin soloist with the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. He has chosen a rather original contemporary opus – the First Violin Concerto by Philip Glass, an American minimalist who has Lithuanian roots and has recently frequented Lithuania. The work was composed with Glass’ father in mind, despite the latter’s death some sixteen years earlier: “I wrote the piece in 1987 thinking, let me write a piece that my father would have liked [...] A very smart nice man who had no education in music whatsoever, but the kind of person who fills up concert halls.”

This evening Zhang Guoyong, a Chinese maestro already known to Lithuanian audience, the principal conductor of the Shanghai Opera House, the artistic director of the Qingdao Symphony Orchestra, a professor and the head of the Conducting Department of the Shanghai Conservatory, will grace the podium. The maestro will lead the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra in an orchestral version of Johann Sebastian Bach’s refined Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor (arranged in 1922 by Leopold Stokowski, the legendary master of the baton) and the monumental Third Symphony by Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninov. This is his penultimate work, which reveals tragic talent of the composer.

Ticket prices
15, 20, 30, 40 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: