Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Soul Landscape

Soul Landscape

2020 April 15, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

In response to the decisions of the Vilnius City Municipality and the Government of the Republic of Lithuania regarding the coronavirus pandemic in the world, the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society is cancelling concert.

Artistic director and soloist MINDAUGAS BAČKUS (cello)
Conductor and soloist KASPAR ZEHNDER (flute)
Soul Landscape

FRANZ SCHREKER – Intermezzo for string orchestra, Op. 8
CARL PHILIPP EMANUEL BACH – Concerto for flute and strings G major, Wq. 169, H. 445
ŽIBUOKLĖ MARTINAITYTĖ – Sielunmaisema (Soul Landscape) for cello and orchestra
ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG – Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), Op. 4

The Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra (KCO), one of the youngest and most dynamic professional ensembles of its kind in Lithuania, returns to the National Philharmonic Hall every year. The KCO has already become an attractive creative partner offering ambitious programs with internationally acclaimed conductors and soloists: Mūza Rubackytė, Andrius Žlabys, David Geringas, Modestas Pitrėnas, Robertas Šervenikas, Andres Mustonen, Petras Geniušas, Lukas Geniušas, Paul Badura-Skoda, Alexander Paley, Kaspar Zehnder and others. Mindaugas Bačkus, the artistic director of the orchestra, is a well-known Lithuanian cellist with expressive interpretational vocabulary. He often appears in contemporary music festivals, performs new opuses and sometimes inspires them.

The renowned Swiss flutist and conductor Kaspar Zehnder graces the podium of the KCO again. This talented and versatile musician is the artistic director of the Biel Solothurn Symphony Orchestra (Switzerland), the principal conductor of the Hradci Králové Philharmonic Orchestra (Czech Republic) and the artistic director of the prestigious Murten Classics Festival, where the Klaipėda Chamber Orchestra often performs.

Tonight’s programme will feature Intermezzo Op. 8 by Franz Schreker, an Austrian composer of the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, Concerto for Flute and Strings in G major by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, a representative of early classicism, and Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), one of the most popular works by Arnold Schönberg, founder of the New Viennese School.

The title of the opus written by the Lithuanian composer Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, who lives in New York, Sielunmaisema (2019) translates from the Finnish language as “soul landscape”. “Soul landscape is related to the issue of identity and place that I seem to deal with in my own life between two cultures – Lithuania and the US. I have repeatedly said that music is my real home. In this case, the composition becomes that ideal soul landscape, which also reflects the landscape of natural medium seen through the prism of four seasons”, says the composer.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: