Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
From Chopin to Kilar

From Chopin to Kilar

To mark the 210th anniversary of the birth of Fryderyk Chopin
2020 April 18, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

Partners of the concert: Polish institute in Vilnius and Embassy of Poland in Vilnius

In response to the decisions of the Vilnius City Municipality and the Government of the Republic of Lithuania regarding the coronavirus pandemic in the world, the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society is cancelling concert.

Soloist ELIANE RODRIGUES (piano)
From Chopin to Kilar

FRYDERYK CHOPIN – Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11 (chamber version)
HENRYK MIKOŁAJ GÓRECKI – Three pieces in Old Style for string orchestra
BENJAMIN BRITTEN – Simple Symphony, Op. 4
WOJCIECH KILAR – Orawa for string orchestra

Tonight, the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra collaborates with two guests – Brazilian/Belgian pianist Eliane Rodriguez, the initiator of the Música Romântica music festival in Switzerland and professor at the Antwerp Royal Conservatoire, who enjoys a long-standing musical friendship with the collectives of the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society, and Polish conductor Michał Dworzyński who attracted international attention from music critics and professionals in 2006, after winning the Donatella Flick Conducting Competition in London. He subsequently received invitations to become an assistant conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra and had long-lasting collaborations with the legendary maestro Valery Gergiev and Sir Colin Davis. The concert programme includes works by Polish composers of various periods, from the subtle and sensual Fryderyk Chopin’s romantic Piano Concerto (tonight’s audience will be presented with the chamber version) to two contemporary opuses – Henryk Mikołaj Górecki’s Three Pieces in Old Style and Wojciech Kilar’s Orawa for strings. The latter is the last movement of the Tatra Mountains Works cycle “voicing” the landscape of the region between Poland and Slovakia and the image of the meandering river. The concert programme also offers the 20th century English composer Benjamin Britten’s Symphony – a simple yet four-movement opus, featuring different characters, graceful form and transparent orchestration.

The orchestra and concert program changed

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: