Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Exclusively Beethoven

Exclusively Beethoven

To mark the 250th birth anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven
2020 March 15, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius

In response to the decisions of the Vilnius City Municipality and the Government of the Republic of Lithuania regarding the coronavirus pandemic in the world, the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society is cancelling concert.

Exclusively Beethoven

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – String quartet No. 10 in E flat major, Op. 74 (Harfenquartett); Septet in E flat major, Op. 20

It is the National Philharmonic’s first concert celebrating the 250th birth anniversary of Beethoven. The day of death of this musical genius is known, while exact date of his birth is uncertain: he was baptised on December 17th, 1770 in the church of St. Remigius in Bonn. In those days it was customary for baptism to take place on the second or third day after birth. This year, the composer’s anniversary is widely celebrated throughout the music world.

Beethoven’s string quartets represent the stages of his artistic expression from early creative attempts to the mature examples of the genre. Vilnius String Quartet programs String quartet No. 10 in E flat major, Op. 74. While listening to this music, one feels that the composer known as the tribune sinks into his subjective contemplations of love, longing and unfulfilled hopes. The title Harfenquartett, or Harp, was given by the music publisher, after the first movement’s pizzicato, which resembles the sounds of a harp. The quartet was written in 1809, the same year Beethoven composed Piano concerto No. 5 in E flat major, Emperor, Op. 73, and started working on Piano sonata No. 26, in E flat major, Op. 81a (Farewell).

In Septet in E flat major, Op. 20, the Vilnius String Quartet collaborates with Vytautas Giedraitis (clarinet), Julius Klimavičius (bassoon), Indrė Kuleševičienė (French horn) and Arnoldas Gurinavičius (double bass). Composed in 1799, this opus was dedicated to the Empress Maria Theresa and premiered the following year. The Septet was one of Beethoven’s most successful and popular works and circulated in many editions and arrangements for different instrumental combinations.

Ticket prices
8, 10 Eur. 1 hour before the concert tickets are available at the concert venue.

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: