Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Consecration of the House

Consecration of the House

Opening of the 6th Vilnius Piano Festival
2019 November 23, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Soloist MŪZA RUBACKYTĖ (piano; Lithuania, France, Switzerland)
Consecration of the House

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Overture Die Weihe des Hauses, Op. 124
ROBERT SCHUMANN – Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120
JOHANNES BRAHMS – Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

For the sixth time the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society invites piano music lovers to the Vilnius Piano Festival launched by pianist Prof. Mūza Rubackytė in 2009. In the initial year the Festival joined the festivities of millennium since the first mention of Lithuania’s name in written records; two years later (2011) it celebrated the legacy of Hungarian composer Ferenc Liszt and paid tribute the Lithuanian artist and composer Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis on his 100th death anniversary; in 2013, already an event with enthusiastic following, the Festival presented Touched by the Muses concert series and marked the 80th anniversary of Polish contemporary composer Krzysztof Penderecki; in 2015, the Festival’s intriguing theme Tandems offered seven stunning piano encounters; in 2017, the event focused on pianists’ creative rendezvous and partnership in music, which entitles blossoming of new talents and emerging of new masterpieces.

In 2019, the Festival celebrates its 10th anniversary. Its theme – A Woman’s Love and Life – was adopted as the Festival’s epigraph from German romanticist Robert Schumann’s namesake vocal cycle (Frauen-Liebe und Leben). This year’s Festival is dedicated to Clara Schumann, one of the most illustrious 19th-century female pianists, and men composers of genius Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms, two of her companions in life and music. Their music will be featured in every concert of the Festival.

At the opening concert the audience will meet the Lithuanian piano Maestra Mūza Rubackytė and Italian baton master Renato Balsadonna, who is back on the Festival podium. Both musicians will join the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra in Brahms’ First Piano Concerto. The concert programme also includes two symphonic scores: monumental Fourth Symphony by Robert Schumann and Beethoven’s majestic overture Consecration of the House. The latter was chosen deliberately – after a year-long renovation the National Philharmonic Hall opens the door again with a promise of memorable musical delights.

Mūza Rubackytė, the initiator of the Festival, dedicates this concert to the memory of her Mother T. Rubackienė, pianist and pedagogue. Brahms’ First Piano Concerto was of importance to her Mother – accompanied by her Professor Balys Dvarionas she performed it at the graduation of the Vilnius Conservatoire.

Ticket prices
15 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: