Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Norwegian Sonatas

Norwegian Sonatas

2020 September 30, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
ALEXANDER PALEY (piano; France, USA)
Norwegian Sonatas

EDVARD GRIEG – Sonatas for violin and piano: No. 1 in F major, Op. 8; No. 2 in G major, Op. 13; No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45

Tonight, violinist Raimondas Butvila and pianist Alexander Paley, colleagues and study mates at the P. Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow, share the Philharmonic stage. Since 2013, they have been actively collaborating: playing recitals, giving concerts with the Vytautas Magnus University Chamber Orchestra, performing Haydn and Mendelssohn concertos for violin and piano, Prokofiev’s sonatas and other works. Butvila annually participates in the Moulin d’Ande festival in France organised by Paley.

Tour routes often bring Paley to Lithuania. Born in Moldova, Paley embarked on his international career after winning J.S. Bach Competition in Leipzig, the Bosendorfer Prize and the Grand Prix in competition in Bulgaria. The pianist regularly performs in Europe, North and South America, and organises festivals in France and the United States. Paley’s repertoire includes more than 50 concertos for piano and orchestra, several hundred solo piano opuses as well as chamber works.

Raimondas Butvila, a winner of many international competitions, has been a member of various Lithuanian music collectives. In 1993–2011, he lived and worked in Venezuela, was a music director at Emil Friedman College in Caracas and a professor at the University of the Arts (UNEARTE). As a soloist, he has often collaborated with Venezuelan orchestras, performing the core violin concertos. After returning to Lithuania, he has been teaching at the Vytautas Magnus University Academy of Music and leading active performing career.

Continuing the creative cooperation, colleagues present Lithuanian listeners with their new programme featuring Edvard Grieg’s sonatas for violin and piano. “It’s a monographic programme that allows one to penetrate deeply into the composer’s style and heart to better understand what inspired the creator. Grieg’s sonatas are rarely performed together. They were written at different periods, and that allows one to see how the musical language changed and became richer”, say the performers.

Ticket prices
10, 15 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: