Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Musical Stories

Musical Stories

2016 April 2, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Soloist DANJULO ISHIZAKA (cello)
Musical Stories

CARL MARIA VON WEBER – Overture to the opera Euryanthe
ROBERT SCHUMANN – Concerto for cello and orchestra in A minor, Op. 129
HECTOR BERLIOZ – Symphonie fantastique in C major, Op. 14

The National Philharmonic hosts the return of cellist Danjulo Ishizaka. The cellist of German and Japanese descent made his name in 2003, when he appeared with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Penderecki. “Talented and incomparably individual musical personality. His technical abilities are phenomenal; his playing mesmerizes with original and spontaneous colours, ingenious phrasing” wrote Süddeutsche Zeitung about the cellist bursting with youthful vitality. While Frankfurt’s Allgemeine Zeitung dubbed the winner of prestigious international competitions in Spain, Poland, Germany and Sweden the “new genius”. Today Ishizaka gives concerts with the world’s leading orchestras around the world.

Musical Stories programs symphonic opuses by three 19th century composers. Led by Maestro Robertas Šervenikas, the LNSO will narrate the stories of deceit, intrigue and love that overcomes everything (Weber’s overture Euryanthe), the wanderings and visions of a lonely hero (Berlioz’s  Symphonie fantastique). Together with Lithuanian musicians Ishizaka will perform Schumann’s Cello Concerto. The critics emphasise his intellectual interpretation and ascribe him to a few performers who perform Schumann’s Concerto as if it was composed for them.

Ticket prices
10, 14, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: