Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Martynas Levickis and SIGNUM. Hommage a Ástor

Martynas Levickis and SIGNUM. Hommage a Ástor

To mark Ástor Piazzolla’s centenary
2021 June 20, Sunday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Concert Hall, Vilnius

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

SIGNUM Saxophone Quartet (Germany):
BLAŽ KEMPERLE (soprano saxophone)
HAYRAPET ARAKELYAN (alto saxophone)
ALAN LUŽAR (tenor saxophone)
GUERINO BELLAROSA (baritone saxophone)
Martynas Levickis and SIGNUM. Hommage a Ástor

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH – Orchestral suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067 (accordion and saxophone quartet arrangement by Signum)
RICHARD GALLIANO Opale Concerto (saxophone quartet arrangement by Signum)
ALBERTO GINASTERA Três danzas argentinas, Op. 2 (saxophone quartet arrangement by Signum)
ÁSTOR PIAZZOLLA Solitude (baritone saxophone and accordion arrangement by Signum); Escualo (accordion and saxophone arrangement by Izidor Leitinger)
MICHEL CAMILO Caribe (accordion and saxophone quartet arrangement by Izidor Leitinger)

Ástor Piazzolla’s (1921–1992), the famous pioneer of tango nuevo, compositions based on jazz and classical forms created not only completely new harmonic and rhythmic vocabulary, but also a universe of vivid musical emotions, and transferred passionate dance from parties or clubs to concert halls. This music does not lack sharp dissonances or sudden changes in tempo and meter. Its development often consists of both fragmentary presentation and continuous improvisation, inviting the listener to immerse him/herself in passionate and nostalgic sonorities.

Although 100 years have passed, Piazzolla’s music has not lost the relevance to each of us. Piazzolla was once presented to Lithuania by Gidon Kremer, an enthusiastic tango fan, and his Kremerata Baltica. “Is there anything more significant than that emotionally charged music?”, Kremer once said.

On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the composer’s birth, his music is performed at the Vilnius Festival. Timbre of accordion is irreplaceable in tango, thus the concert will feature accordionist Martynas Levickis, a passionate fan of Piazzolla and champion of his music. The performer is a graduate of the Royal Academy of Music in London, and the Spanish Musikene (Higher School of Music), an associate member of the Royal Academy of Music in London (ARAM), laureate and prize-winner of more than 30 competitions. Among his most notable achievements were the 1st prize in the Coupe Mondiale International Accordion Competition (2010, Croatia), five 1st prizes in different genre categories in the American Accordionists’ Association (AAA) Competition (2009, USA).

In 2011–2012, Levickis was selected to take part in the Park Lane Group concert series and also won a prize set up by the Martin Musical Scholarship Fund of the London Philharmonic. In Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, one of Germany’s largest classical music festivals, he won the Audience Award (2014) and became the festival’s Prize-winner in Residence (2020; the first time an accordionist has won this prestigious award). The performer gives concerts all over the world, organizes events that enjoy great popularity.

Levickis’ partners at the Vilnius Festival are “four saxophonists who manage to sway buildings”, Hamburger Abendblatt wrote about the charismatic Signum musicians. Having formed in Cologne in 2006, the quartet won several competitions, performed at Carnegie Hall in New York. The European Concert Hall Organization’s (ECHO) Rising Stars Award (2014–2015) paved the way to many other prestigious stages: the Barbican Centre in London, the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Konzerthaus Dortmund, the Cologne Philharmonic and much more.

Recently, Signum received an award as the best ensemble at the prestigious German festival Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The saxophone quartet is constantly in quest for new ideas and innovative artistic encounters. Their experimental versatility is reflected in intriguing programmes and unique arrangements. The ensemble’s idiosyncratic timbral arrangements enhance this programme ranging from Bach to Piazzolla.

Ticket prices
20, 30, 40, 50 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: