Back to home page   What's on   All events  
From Bach to Glass

From Bach to Glass

2021 June 18, Friday, 17.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Concert Hall, Vilnius

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Concert moved from 14 March 2020 and 16 January 2021, the tickets remain valid

From Bach to Glass

PHILIP GLASS – Violin Concerto No. 1
SERGEI RACHMANINOV – Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 44



Tonight Sergej Krylov, the Artistic Director and Conductor of the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, appears as a violin soloist with the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, another orchestra, based at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society. He has chosen a rather original contemporary opus – the First Violin Concerto by Philip Glass, an American minimalist who has Lithuanian roots and has frequented Lithuania in recent years

The work was composed with Glass’  father in mind, despite the latters death some sixteen years earlier: I wrote the piece in 1987 thinking, let me write a piece that my father would have liked [...] A very smart nice man who had no education in music whatsoever, but the kind of person who fills up concert halls.” Eventually, the Violin Concerto became one of the American composers most popular works.

Tonight’s programme will be conducted by Vilmantas Kaliūnas. He will lead the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra in the monumental Third Symphony by Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninov. This is the latters penultimate work, which reveals the composers tragic talent.

Ticket prices
15, 20, 30, 40 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: