Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Four Saxophones and Orchestra

Four Saxophones and Orchestra

2016 October 7, Friday, 18.00
Klaipėda Concert Hall (Šaulių st. 36), Other location
Four Saxophones and Orchestra

VLADAS JAKUBĖNAS – Suite from the ballet Vaivos juosta (Rainbow) (instrumentation by M. Baranauskas)
PHILIP GLASS – Concerto for four saxophones and orchestra
IGOR STRAVINSKY – Suite from the ballet Petrushka

Tonight the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and its artistic director, conductor Modestas Pitrėnas collaborate with Signum Saxophone Quartet from Germany.

For several years facilitated by youthful energy and innovatory ideas Signum – Blaž Kemperle, Erik Nestler, Alan Lužar and Guerino Bellarosa – has been blowing a refreshing wind of new notions in Europe’s concert halls and festivals. Wherever the saxophonists appear, be it Carnegie Hall in New or snowy peaks of the Dolomites, they always are driven by the joy of experimentation: the four young musicians perform classical opuses for quartet as well as their own arrangements of well-known works. Signum plays with utmost ease and most often from memory, enriching the performances with movement and instrumental theatre elements.

For Lithuanian audience the Quartet offers Concerto for four saxophones and orchestra by American minimalist Philip Glass. This expressive programme will be framed by the Suite from the ballet Vaivos juosta (Rainbow) by Vladas Jakubėnas and Suite from the ballet burlesque Petrushka by Stravinsky.

The score of  Jakubėnas’ Vaivos juosta, his only work for stage,was lost during the WWII. Later the composer reconstructed the music from memory; recently it was orchestrated by composer Marius Baranauskas. For Suite Petrushka Stravinsky used the episodes from the ballet written in 1911 on commission by the legendary Serge Diaghilev. “At the Shrovetide Fair the old magician demonstrates the dolls that come alive, whose rampageous dance puts the curious crowd under a spell…” wrote the composer.


Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: