Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Dialogues with Beethoven

Dialogues with Beethoven

To mark Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birth anniversary
2020 December 2, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

Concert cancelled

Ticket refund information:

GABRIELIUS ALEKNA (piano; Lithuania, USA)
Dialogues with Beethoven

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Variations for cello and piano on Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen from W. A. Mozart’s opera Die Zauberflöte, WoO 46
ŽIBUOKLĖ MARTINAITYTĖ – kiekvienoje gelmėje atsiveria gilesnė gelmė... (...and under every deep a lower deep opens..., premiere, 2020)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Sonata for cello and piano No. 3 in A major, Op. 69
ANTON WEBERN – 3 Kleine Stücke for cello and piano, Op. 11
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Sonata for cello and piano No. 5 in D major, Op. 102 No. 2

Described by Daniel Barenboim as “a highly gifted pianist and musician”, Gabrielius Alekna is a winner of fourteen international competitions and a recipient of the Young Creator Prize of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Lithuania The pianist studied at the National M. K. Čiurlionis School of Arts, the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre (under prof. L. Drąsutienė), and from 1996 continued his education at Juilliard School in New York (under prof. J. Lowenthal). Alekna is the first Lithuanian to be admitted to this famous school with a full scholarship. In 2006, he was the first Lithuanian to earn a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the Juilliard School.

Alekna is an ardent champion of music by Lithuanian composers. He paid a lot of attention to the research, recordings and performance of Vytautas Bacevičius’ piano works. The Viennese classicist Beethoven is yet another significant component of the pianist’s repertoire. Alekna has won the Beethoven Piano Competition in Vienna, thus it is of importance to him to contribute to Beethoven’s 250th anniversary. Tonight, the pianist shares the stage with Caroline Stinson, a Canadian cellist living in New York. At Gabrielius’ invitation, she taught at the Birštonas Summer Music Academy he co-founded together with the Lithuanian Musicians’ Union. The programme is constructed around some of Beethoven’s most striking and characteristic works for cello and piano. Next to them, the musicians present elegant pieces by Webern written in a concentrated musical language as well as a couple of contemporary compositions. At the request of cellist Robert Burkhart, composer Andrew Waggoner wrote Catenary (2007), a work inspired by a series of namesake paintings by Jasper Johns produced in the 1990s. Another important composition in this programme is one of Žibuoklė Martinaitytė’s latest opuses ...and under every deep a lower deep opens... The listeners are up to a premiere of this piece, commissioned by Alekna.

Ticket prices
10, 15 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: