Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Violin Magic

Violin Magic

To mark the anniversary of violinist ILONA GIRDŽIŪNAITĖ
2020 November 5, Thursday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Chamber Hall, Vilnius
Conductor ROBERTAS BEINARIS (oboe)
Violin Magic

ANTONIO VIVALDI – Concerto for two violins, strings and basso continuo in A minor, RV 522 from L’Estro armónico, Op. 3, No. 8
CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS–EUGÈNE YSAŸE – L’Etude en Forme de Valse for violin and orchestra (arranged by A. Pushkarev)
EDVARD ROGOŽA – J. J. Vision for six violins, viola, cello and double bass (premiere, 2020)
LEOPOLD GODOWSKY–JASCHA HEIFETZ – Alt Wien for violin and strings  
ANTONIO VIVALDI – Sonata in D minor, RV 63 La Follia (arranged by G. Kviklys)

This year Ilona Girdžiūnaitė, the violinist of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, celebrates two anniversaries – her personal and 25 years of her work at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society. For 15 years I. Girdžiūnaitė has been a member of the Musica humana chamber ensemble, therefore this concert is dedicated to the violinist, violin music and its magical power.

The program includes works for strings spanning from the Baroque to the present day: Double concerto in A minor and sonata La Follia by Vivaldi, the genius of violin concerto genre, as well as fun and popular pieces by Saint-Saëns–Ysaÿe and Godowsky–Heifetz. In addition, the concert features the premiere of Edward Rogoža’s J. J. Vision for six violins, viola, cello and double bass, dedicated to Julius Juzeliūnas.

Ticket prices
10, 12 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: