Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
REspect for Beethoven

REspect for Beethoven

To mark the 250th birth anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven
2021 March 4, Thursday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius

The concert moves from November 29, 2020. Tickets remain valid.

REspect for Beethoven

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 in D major, Op. 12
PHILIP GLASS – Sonata for violin and piano
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Sonata for violin and piano No. 10 in G major, Op. 96
VALENTYN SYLVESTROV – Sonata Post scriptum for violin and piano

With this concert musician-sisters violinist Rasa Vosyliūtė and pianist Eglė Vosyliūtė celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birth anniversary. “We wanted to show the significance of this musical genius and the classicist for the 21st century community – everything that he has created makes a lot of sense, and we learn from Beethoven all the time. In this programme we combine his music with pieces written in the same classical form but expressing innovative ideas. There is a lot of talk about generational differences these days, but people are still the same ... We chose two Beethoven Sonatas for violin and piano – one from the early period (Nr. 1 D-major) and the last one No. 10 – its extraordinarily deep content surpasses Beethoven’s time.

Ukrainian composer Valentyn Silvestrov is a minimalist, silent dreamer, who makes familiar music sound completely new. Written in 1990, sonata Post scriptum raises the questions – is it a reality, or a dream, real or fake, after all – post scriptum to what? Philip Glass’ Sonata for violin and piano (2008), that we long searched for, is classically shaped and dramatic – just like Beethoven’s character!”, the musicians say.

R. Vosyliūtė is the winner of the H. Eller International Violin Competition in Tallinn; she has appeared with the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, the Lithuanian, St. Christopher, Klaipėda and Tallinn chamber orchestras; the violinist has performed in London, Brussels, Washington, Paris and various concert venues in Vilnius. The violinist is the second concertmaster of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra. E. Vosyliūtė has performed with various ensembles and soloists, participated in music festivals in Tallinn, Salzburg, Rostock and made recordings for the Lithuanian Radio.

Ticket prices
8 Eur. 1 hour before the concert tickets are available at the concert venue.

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: