Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Recital of pianist Ekaterina Mechetina

Recital of pianist Ekaterina Mechetina

The 17th International Art Festival Orthodox Christmas in Lithuania
2020 December 22, Tuesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

Concert cancelled

Ticket refund information:

Concert organised by the School of Traditional Slavic Music

Recital of pianist Ekaterina Mechetina

ANATOLY LYADOV – Prelude in B minor, Op. 11
ANTON ARENSKY – In the Fields No. 24, Op. 36; The Forest Rivulet No. 15, Op. 36
ALEXANDER BORODIN – Scherzo in A flat major
SERGEI RACHMANINOV – Three Études-Tableaux: No. 3 in C minor, No. 8 in G minor, Op. 33; No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 39
MODEST MUSSORGSKY – Suite Pictures at an Exhibition

The festival Orthodox Christmas in Lithuania presents Ekaterina Mechetina, a soloist of the Moscow State Academic Philharmonic, collaborating with the best Russian and European orchestras. Three outstanding musicians played a major role in the pianist’s career: violinist and conductor Vladimir Spivakov, who regularly invites her to concerts (she performed at various times with the Moscow Virtuosos, the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia at the time when it was directed by V. Spivakov), cellist and conductor Mstislav Rostropovich, and composer Rodion Shchedrin. After hearing Ekaterina for the first time, Shchedrin entrusted her with the world premiere of his Sixth Piano Concerto. Ekaterina’s performances are always a success, the audience is captivated not only by the pianist’s virtuosity, but also her personal charm. The pianist has won impressive awards and prizes in international competitions. Since 2009, she has been teaching at the Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in Moscow.

In Lithuania, Mechetina has already appeared with orchestras. This time she presents a solo program – the opuses by her compatriots spanning from the miniatures by Lyadov, Glinka and Arensky to the virtuoso concert pieces by Borodin and Tchaikovsky, the complex etudes by Rachmaninov and Mussorgsky’s monumental cycle Pictures at an Exhibition.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 25, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: