Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Piano music concert Dances for Two Pianos

Piano music concert Dances for Two Pianos

To mark the 30th creative anniversary of Rūta Rikterė and Zbignevas Ibelhauptas Piano Duo
2019 December 29, Sunday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Piano music concert Dances for Two Pianos

EDVARD GRIEG – Old Norwegian Romance with Variations, Op. 51
MANUEL INFANTE – Danses Andalouses
BRONIUS KUTAVIČIUS – Sonate Crane Dances for two pianos and clarinet
CARLOS GUASTAVINO – Tres Romances Argentinos, Op. 2
MICHAEL NYMAN – „Water dances“: IV. „Gliding“ ir V. „Synchronizing“ 

Pianists Rūta Rikterė and Zbignevas Ibelhauptas have incessantly been championing piano duo genre for 30 years (since 1989). The two musicians attract attention with their interesting programmes, openness for wider multicultural contexts, and ideas not pinioned by interpretational stereotypes. Not shunning from virtuoso bravura the piano duo perfectly meets all the standards of ‘ascetic’ academism. It also daringly or even provokingly invites the audience to discover new music vistas. 

The Duo’s rich repertoire spans from baroque works to contemporary opuses. Their concert programs often include rarely performed compositions. The pianists focus on the 20th–21st-century music including works by Bartók, Britten, Messiaen and Ligeti, as well as the latest opuses by Crumb, Lang, Adams, Glass and others. Moreover, the Duo pays great attention to contemporary Lithuanian music by nurturing the history of Lithuanian music, editing Lithuanian music, initiating and premiering works by many a Lithuanian composer.

Rūta Rikterė and Zbignevas Ibelhauptas Piano Duo has given recitals in Switzerland, Italy, France, Germany, Slovenia, Ireland, Canada and Japan. The Duo has collaborated with a number of singers, instrumentalists, choirs, orchestras and conductors. Both pianists are the winners of M. K. Čiurlionis Piano Competition; in 1991, won the International Piano Duo Competition in Rome. In 1997, for the highest mastery Rūta Rikterė and Zbignevas Ibelhauptas Piano Duo was awarded the Lithuanian national Culture and Art Prize.

The Duo’s gala programme Dances for Two Pianos offers dances and romances by Norwegian, Spanish, Lithuanian, Argentinian and British composers.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: