Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Sounds and Colours

Sounds and Colours

2020 March 21, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

In response to the decisions of the Vilnius City Municipality and the Government of the Republic of Lithuania regarding the coronavirus pandemic in the world, the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society is cancelling concert.

Soloist ONUTĖ GRAŽINYTĖ (piano)
Sounds and Colours

GEORGE ENESCU – Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A major, Op. 11
ALEXANDER SKRIABIN – Concerto for piano and orchestra in F sharp minor, Op. 20
SERGEI PROKOFIEV – Symphony No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 131

The Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, led by maestro Modest Pitrėnas, collaborates with Onutė Gražinytė, a young generation Lithuanian pianist currently studying in Germany. She has been earning recognition from the critics and professionals alike. A winner of ten national and international competitions, she has been enjoying invitations to give concerts and appear in festivals. In 2018, Gražinytė was awarded the famous Chinese pianist Haiou Zhang’s prize, which enabled her to perform in more than ten concert halls in Germany, Italy and China and to make her debut at the Buxtehude Summer Festival next year. The young pianist will offer the Lithuanian audience Russian composer Alexander Scriabin’ Piano Concerto: it was the 24-year-old composer’s first composition for the orchestra and the only concerto in his legacy. The opus is imbued with Chopinesque sonorities and lyricism. Reportedly, at a mourning ceremony of Scriabin’s death in 1915, Sergei Rachmaninov performed the piano part.

Tonight’s programme also features two contrasting and original 20th-century scores. Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 by George Enescu, probably the foremost Romanian composer, violin virtuoso, pianist and conductor of the 20th century. It is one of his most popular pieces, which combines the peculiarity of Romanian folklore with the splendour and colourfulness of orchestration typical of French symphonic music of that time. The concert will be crowned with Sergei Prokofiev’s Seventh Symphony, his last symphonic work, distinguished from the composer’s other symphonies by lyricism and youthful freshness. The work does not showcase dramatic collisions, fighting and conflicting encounters, but rather exalts love and life, dignity and beauty.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: