Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  


2020 March 28, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

In response to the decisions of the Vilnius City Municipality and the Government of the Republic of Lithuania regarding the coronavirus pandemic in the world, the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society is cancelling concert.

Conductor KAI BUMANN

MIKALOJUS KONSTANTINAS ČIURLIONIS – Symphonic overture Kęstutis, VL 2 (re-instrumentation by Jurgis Juozapaitis, 1995)
NIKOLAI MEDTNER – Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 3 in E minor Ballade, Op. 60
KAROL SZYMANOWSKI – Symphony No. 4 Symphonie Concertante for piano and orchestra, Op. 60
VYTAUTAS BARKAUSKAS – Trio Concertante for three pianos and orchestra, Op. 133

This symphonic music concert welcomes the dynasty of pianists of three generations – Veronika Vitaitė, grandmother and mother, long-time head of the Piano Department of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre; Aleksandra Žvirblytė, daughter and mother, and Paulius Andersson, son and grandson. Both prominent lady-pianists are also famous as professors of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre, who have educated many young talents. Andersson, a graduate of the National M.K. Čiurlionis School of Arts and a student at the LAMT, has already won several international competitions, performed with various orchestras, played recitals, toured in the USA, Japan, Germany, Sweden, Poland, Sakartvelo and other countries. Andersson is currently studying in Düsseldorf (Germany). His latest laurels come from Rachmaninov International Competition for Young Pianists in Moscow, where in February 2020 he garnered the second prize.

The Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Kai Bumann, a German master of the baton well known to the Lithuanian audience, presents the 20th century masterpieces, including music by two Lithuanian composers: a rarely performed symphonic overture Kęstutis by M. Čiurlionis and Trio concertante by V. Barkauskas. The latter will invite all three pianists to the stage. The concert programme also features one of the last opuses of the Russian composer Nikolai Medtner, the Third Piano Concerto Ballad, and Polish composer Karol Szymanowski’s Fourth Symphony, scored not only for orchestra but also for piano.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: