Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Open the Gate of Oblivion II

Open the Gate of Oblivion II

To mark Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birth anniversary
2020 December 6, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius

Concert cancelled

Ticket refund information:

Open the Gate of Oblivion II

PĒTERIS VASKS – String quartet No. 4
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – String quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130




The Vilnius Quartet has been presenting various concert series for many years, and this season the musicians started a new series Open the Gate of Oblivion, named after Onutė Narbutaitė’s Second string quartet. The aforementioned opus was featured in September at the Quartet’s first concert of the series.

This afternoon the musicians offer Ludwig van Beethoven’s String quartet No. 13 in B major, Op. 130, one of the five late string quartets (Nos. 12–16), written in his final years in 1825–1826. Until now, composers, music historians and researchers unanimously agree that these are unsurpassed scores of all time.

Furthermore, this afternoon the Vilnius Quartet starts the cycle of Lithuanian music classic Jurgis Karnavičius’ string quartets. He is mostly known as the composer of stage works – the operas Gražina and Radvila Perkūnas, therefore his instrumental works will be quite a discovery for listeners.

Ticket prices
8 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: