Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
New Year Eve with Vilnius String Quartet

New Year Eve with Vilnius String Quartet

2020 December 31, Thursday, 19.00
Vilna Gaon State Jewish Museum, Vilnius
ROKAS STUNŽĖNAS (double bass)
New Year Eve with Vilnius String Quartet

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – String quartet No. 14 in G major, KV 387 (Spring)
FRANZ SCHUBERT – Quintet for piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass in A major, Op. post. 114 / D. 667 (Forellenquintett)

The farewell to the Old year with Schubert’s subtle Forellenquintett has become a tradition of the Vilnius String Quartet and its colleagues. On the very last evening of 2020, the Quartet performs it in Vilna Gaon State Jewish Museum with double bassist Rokas Stunžėnas  and pianist Rokas Valuntonis, a winner of over 20 international competitions.

Next to Forellenquintett, the Vilnius String Quartet will perform Mozart’s charming String quartet No. 14 in G major. Mozart wrote this opus, invoking New Year tenor, in 1782 after settling in Vienna – in the manuscript he inscribed the date of the completion “31 December, 1782”. Eventually, the subtitle Spring was attributed to the quartet. However, it is the first of a series of six quartets dedicated to his friend Joseph Haydn.

Ticket prices
15, 20 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: