Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Fairy Tales for Saxophones

Fairy Tales for Saxophones

2019 December 14, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
SIGNUM Saxophone Quartet (Germany)
Fairy Tales for Saxophones

SIEGFRIED MATTHUS – Concerto for four saxophones and orchestra Phantastische Zauberträume. Ein saxophonisches Märchen
GIEDRIUS KUPREVIČIUS – Symphony From the Flat World (after Terry Pratchett’s story). To mark the composer’s 75th birth anniversary

The National Philharmonic Hall is proud to welcome back Signum Saxophone Quartet. The four saxophonists Blaž Kemperle, Erik Nestler, Alan Lužar and Guerino Bellarosa met in Cologne and formed the Quartet in 2006. For several years their youthful energy, artistic eloquence and innovative ideas have kept bringing refreshing changes to European concert halls and festivals. The Quartet can be heard in the most diverse venues ranging from New York’s prestigious Carnegie Hall to the snowy caps of the Dolomite Alps. Performing with stunning ease and most often from memory, Signum enhances their appearances with movement and elements of instrumental theatre. The National Philharmonic audience will experience that in German composer Siegfried Matthus’ Phantastische Zauberträume. Ein saxophonisches Märchen (Fantastic Magic Dreams. Fairy Tales for Saxophones).

Tonight’s programme also features Lithuanian symphony From the Flat World (after Terry Pratchett’s namesake story) by Giedrius Kuprevičius, an essayist, polemist, pedagogue and a member of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences. The composer celebrates his 75th anniversary this year. Prior to the performance of his opera Prussians in Klaipėda, the composer was asked whether he still has unreached peaks. “From the mountain that you are climbing up your entire life, your can see a valley, and you have to save time for descending into it. There is plenty of work to be done in the valley as well. Fieldworkers are always in need. I am going to join them”, answered the composer.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: