Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Educational concert Music Myths and Legends

Educational concert Music Myths and Legends

2020 September 11, Friday, 12.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

Concert moved from May 10, 2020, the tickets remain valid

Educational concert Music Myths and Legends

MAURICE RAVEL –  Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2, M.57b
FERENC LISZT – Symphonic poem No. 5 Prometheus, S. 99
CLAUDE DEBUSSY – Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun), L. 86 

Imantas Šimkus, the conductor of the concert, had an idea to design concert programme based on ancient myths. Indeed, there is much more mythology in operas, thus he had to put in much effort to build the symphonic music programme.

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937), the composer of the famous Bolero, described his ballet about lovers Daphnis and Chloé as a choreographic symphony: “My intention was to compose a vast musical fresco, less scrupulous as to archaism than faithful to the Heladà of my dreams, which inclined readily enough to what French artists and writers of the late 18th century have imagined and depicted. This symphonic opus is based on several themes, the development of which achieves the integrity of music according to a strict tonal plan.” The score of Daphnis et Chloé is one of the greatest achievements of impressionism in music.

Claude Debussy (1862–1918) composed the symphonic Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun) based on the poem of Stéphane Mallarmé, the symbolist poet. Its main characters are the goat-legged Faun (the guardian of nature), nymphs, naiads, mermaids and other mythological creatures. The plot is static: Faun lying on the hot sand dreams of nymphs. Having subtly fathomed the peculiarities of the poetic original, Debussy created a static musical canvas of lacework nature. Afternoon of a Faun is an impressionist masterpiece, an orchestral etude full of longing bliss.

Ferenc Liszt (1811–1886), one of the pioneers of program music, was convinced that music is inseparable from other arts, especially poetry. Creation of the symphonic poem genre is one of Liszt’s greatest merits. The images embodied in these opuses were inspired by masterpieces of world literature, ancient myths, works of art, and historical events. Today we will hear his fifth symphonic poem Prometheus, which tells about the titan, who stole fire from the gods and brought it to Earth.

Ticket prices
6, 8, 10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: