Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Double Recital

Double Recital

2020 December 9, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

Concert moved to 2021. The exact date will be announced later, tickets remain valid.

Double Recital

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Piano sonata No. 28 in A major, Op. 101
PHILIP GLASS – Etude No. 6
SAMUEL BARBER – Excursions, Op. 20
MAURICE RAVEL – Daphnis et Chloé (Daphnis and Chloé) Suite No 2 (two-piano arrangement by Vyacheslav Gryaznov); La Valse (the composer’s version for two pianos)

Two prominent pianists tonight appear as both soloists and piano duo: Petras Geniušas, a celebrated Lithuanian musician, professor of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre and Royal Scottish Academy, recipient of the National Prize, and his former student, Romanian virtuoso Daniel Ciobanu. He has won a silver medal and audience prize at the prestigious Arthur Rubinstein Competition in Tel Aviv, played in Carnegie Hall in New York, Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, Gewandhaus in Leipzig, Konzerthaus in Berlin, Enescu Festival in Bucharest, toured in Japan, China, Taiwan, South Africa and Brazil. “Daniel Ciobanu is the most famous of my former students,” says Geniušas. “We have already played together at a festival he organises in his hometown in Romania. This time we want to do something technically demanding, so we chose Ravel’s Suite No. 2 from the music for the ballet Daphnis et Chloé arranged for piano duo. We have both played Ravel’s popular Waltz solo and now we will perform it as a duo,” Geniušas says before a similar concert in Klaipėda Concert Hall. For his solo part of the programme, the professor chose intriguing works by American composers: the foremost contemporary minimalist Philip Glass and Samuel Barber, active at the second half of the 20th c. Geniušas will also pay tribute to Beethoven on the occasion of the composer’s 250th birth anniversary, celebrated worldwide this year. The pianist will perform Piano Sonata No 28 in A major, Op. 101– a sophisticated late period opus in which Beethoven ascends to new heights of refinement and ingenuity, using much more complex forms and polyphonic textures. The composer even suggested that the title be “Difficult to execute Sonata in A major”.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: