Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Dixit Dominus

Dixit Dominus

The 6th Vilnius Piano Festival. In memory of Saulius Karosas
2019 November 30, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Artistic director and conductor Vaclovas Augustinas
Soloists: ADAM LALOUM (piano, France) IEVA GAIDAMAVIČIŪTĖ (soprano) IEVA SKORUBSKAITĖ (soprano) NORA PETROČENKO (mezzo-soprano) VAIDAS BARTUŠAS (tenor) NERIJUS MASEVIČIUS (bass-baritone)
Dixit Dominus

JIEVARAS JASINSKIS – Dedication to Czesław Miłosz for strings
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 24 in C minor, KV 491
GEORG FRIEDRICH HÄNDEL – Dixit Dominus  for soloists, choir and orchestra, HWV 232

The concert is dedicated to the memory of Saulius Karosas, a long-time sponsor and friend of the Vilnius Piano Festival.  

The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra teams up with French pianist Adam Laloum, the first prize winner at the prestigious Clara Haskil Competition. The pianist has appeared in Théâtre des Champs Elysées and Auditorium du Louvre in Paris, Wigmore Hall in London, Herkulessaal in Munich and Tonhalle in Zurich, as well as the Ruhr Festival, the Verbier Festival, the Luzern Festival and La Roque d’Anthéron Festival; collaborated with the Orchestre de Paris, the National Orchestra of Belgium, the Mariinsky Orchestra of St Petersburg, the Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester, the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, etc. Laloum is the artistic director of Les Pages Musicales de Lagrasse chamber music festival. Tonight the pianist will perform Mozart’s Concerto for piano and orchestra No 24 in C minor, KV 491, his most Beethovenian concerto. Apropos, Beethoven himself held this concerto in high regard. In one concert he told British pianist and composer J. B. Cramer: “Cramer, Cramer! We shall never be able to do anything like that!” The Concerto’s dramatic scope and magnitude of symphonic development of musical images had no precedent in Mozart’s epoch. 

For the concert opening the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra led by Modestas Pitrėnas with perform Jievaras Jasinskis’ arrangement of Dedication to Czesław Miłosz for chamber orchestra. 

After intermission the audience will be presented with Händel’s Dixit Dominus for soloists, choir and orchestra after 110th Latin psalm Dixit Dominus Domino meo (The Lord said unto my Lord). Händel completed this opus in Rome in spring of 1707. While living in Italy he composed quite a few psalm settings. Romain Rolland, the illustrious writer, essayist and music critic, named tem Latin Psalms. Let these psalms be our vehicle for remembrance of the magnanimous Saulius Karosas. 

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: