Back to home page   What's on   All events  
The End is the Beginning. G. Gelgotas, NICO and R. Marcinkutė-Lesieur

The End is the Beginning. G. Gelgotas, NICO and R. Marcinkutė-Lesieur

2021 June 13, Sunday, 20.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Concert Hall, Vilnius

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

(artistic director and conductor Gediminas Gelgotas)
The End is the Beginning. G. Gelgotas, NICO and R. Marcinkutė-Lesieur

ARVO PÄRT – Fratres
PĒTERIS VASKS – Castillo Interior
GEDIMINAS GELGOTAS – Mountains. Waters. (Freedom); „Praisedance" ; Unknown 21, Free; An End Is a Beginning
MAX RICHTER – On the Nature of Daylight

The New Ideas Chamber Orchestra NICO was founded by composer and conductor Gediminas Gelgotas in 2006. It is a group of string players known for their attractive and original performances. In concerts, integrating the highest level of string instrument mastery and minimalist visual stage effects, the NICO delivers progressive classical music from memory. The joy of music-making, originality, boldness and exceptional quality of performance – all these words aptly describe the NICO.

In recent years, the NICO has made its debut in the world’s major concert halls and festivals, including Leipzig’s Gewandhaus, London’s Saint Martin-in-the-Fields and Roundhouse, Liepaja’s Great Amber, St. Petersburg and Odessa philharmonic halls, and Concert Hall of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts in Moscow, as well as the festivals of Usedom (Germany), Toulon (France), Ventura (USA), Odessa Classics (Ukraine), Vilnius Festival and other European and American festivals. The NICO is a resident of Vilnius Town Hall, regularly represents Vilnius and Lithuania in important diplomatic missions.

At the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Concert Hall, NICO, organist Renata Marcinkutė-Lesieur and Gediminas Gelgotas (organ, conductor) tonight present compositions by our contemporaries Arvo Pärt (Estonia), Pēteris Vasks (Latvia), Max Richter, Karsten Gundermann (Germany) and Gediminas Gelgotas (Lithuania), the mastermind of the whole programme. The latter’s music has already been performed at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, the Konzerthaus in Berlin, the Tonhalle in Zurich, the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg, the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow and elsewhere. Critics point to Gelgotas’ unique and very appealing musical language, based on the aesthetics of minimalism and modern multi-stylistic influences that combine beauty of an ascetic melody with contagious rhythmic drive.

Mountains. Waters. (Freedom), originally written for a symphony orchestra, was premiered under baton of Kristjan Järvi at Zurich’s Tonhalle in 2015. In the experimental sound composition Unknown 21, Free (2011) for strings the extremely slow dissonant development of the work reaches its climax via rhythmic-scapes and consonant chords, and An End Is a Beginning is one of Gelgotas’ earliest compositions.

New Ideas Chamber Orchestra NICO:
Augusta Jusionytė (violin)
Dalia Simaška (violin)
Julija Ivanovaitė (violin, viola)
Liudvikas Silickas (cello)
Augustinas Sokalski (cello)
Vincas Bačius (double bass)

Ticket prices
15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: