Back to home page   Performers   SERGEJ KRYLOV – Artistic Director of the LCO   Upcoming events  
Paganini and Beethoven’s Masterpieces

Paganini and Beethoven’s Masterpieces

To mark Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birth anniversary
2020 October 10, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Paganini and Beethoven’s Masterpieces

NICCOLÒ PAGANINI – Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 5 in A minor, MS78 (arr. Alexander Strelnikov)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – music for the ballet Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (The Creatures of Prometheus), Op. 43

The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and its artistic director, violinist and conductor Sergej Krylov present works by two contemporaries, Niccolò Paganini and Ludwig van Beethoven, whose birthday is commemorated this year.

Paganini was not only a prominent violin virtuoso, but also the pioneer of a new, romantic, style of performance. His five violin concerti mark an important stage in the development of this genre. Their style is characterized by colourful harmony, as well as melodiousness, improvisation and romantic flair stemming from Italian folklore and rhythm. Wizard of the instrument, Paganini employed all techniques of violin playing with unprecedented boldness, and his innovative works had a great influence on the development of the instrumental concerto genre. Tonight, the emotional S. Krylov, admired around the globe, will play a large-scale, virtuoso and one of the most widely performed Fifth Concerto in A minor (1830).

From a young age, Beethoven was interested in theatre. While living in Vienna, in 1801 he wrote the ballet Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (The Creatures of Prometheus), which is ascribed to a new genre – heroic ballet. Beethoven was fascinated with the mythological plot’s heroic aspect; he could relate to the image of Prometheus, who sacrificed himself for the benefit of the people. The ballet consists of overture, introduction and 16 dance numbers. The performance at the Vienna Burgtheater was staged by the librettist Salvatore Viganò, also a dancer and ballet composer. Prometheus has been shown 28 times. Despite its success at that time, this ballet is rarely staged.

Ticket prices
15, 20, 25 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: