Sharing the Stage with Beethoven

To mark the 250th birth anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven
2020 April 4, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

The concert moves to 2020 12 26.

Sharing the Stage with Beethoven

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, Op. 61; Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 (Heroic)

The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and its artistic director, violinist and conductor Sergej Krylov dedicate this concert to the 250th birth anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven.

The audience will hear Beethoven’s two great works. Having presented pianists with five concertos for piano, the composer wrote only one concerto for the violin, in D major (1806). It is one of the most complex pieces in the violin repertoire. This is due not only to the technical challenges, but also to the deep content that requires true artistic maturity to reveal.

His Third, Heroic, Symphony in E flat major, is one of the best-known opuses of the Viennese classic. Beethoven started working on this opus in the fall of 1802 and fell in a spiritual crisis – realising that deafness was inevitable, he was challenging fate. He produced a row of new works enriching the music treasury: oratorio Christus am Ölberge (Christ on the Mount of Olives), opera Fidelio, piano sonata Appassionata and the aforementioned Violin Concerto. Completed in 1804, the Third Symphony was premiered in the palace of a patron, Count Lobkowitz, and received public performance in Vienna in 1805 under the composer’s direction. At the premiere the audience did not understand this long and complex work, while today it is considered to be the mainspring of symphonic music of the whole 19th century.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: