Night Serenades 2019

2019 August 2, Friday, 20.00
Terrace of the Palanga Amber Museum, Other location
Soloist ELENA DAUNYTĖ (cello)
Conductor VILMANTAS KALIŪNAS (Germany)
Night Serenades 2019

JOSEPH HAYDN – Divertimento for string orchestra in E flat major, Hob.II:21
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Symphony No. 11 in D major, KV 84
PIOTR TCHAIKOVSKY – Elegy (A Grateful Greeting to Ivan Smarin) in G major for string orchestra, TH 51; Variations on a Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra, Op. 33

Tonight’s soloist Elena Daunytė, a younger generation cellist and winner of a number of international competitions, is confident, that the artistic element and appreciation of beauty is intrinsic to everyone: “Some communicate art through musical sounds, others through word, and yet others find their way in subtle manipulation of numbers. Every move of a man is creative act. (…) I think, the Creator encoded all of us as artists and so we are, just choose different ways for our expression.” Tonight the orchestra is led by Maestro Vilmantas Kaliūnas, a Lithuanian conductor based in Germany. He studied under the tutelage of prof. Nicolas Pasquet at the Academy of Music in Weimar, the so-called smithy of conductors. Since 2014, he has served as a regular assistant to Maestro Karl-Marek Chichon. The programme features works by two Viennese classicists Haydn and Mozart as well as Russian romanticist Piotr Tchaikovsky.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: