Back to home page   Performers   ČIURLIONIS QUARTET   Events archive  
Romantics in Paliesius

Romantics in Paliesius

2019 December 7, Saturday, 16.00
Paliesius Manor, Other location
Romantics in Paliesius

ROBERT SCHUMANN – Piano quintet in E flat major, Op. 44
EDVARD GRIEG – String quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 27

The view of Paliesius Manor situated in such a romantic site sparks off one’s wish to hear music by two great romanticists Robert Schumann and Edvard Grieg…

Schumann’s Piano Quintet in E flat major, Op. 44 is considered to be one of the finest scores for piano and string quartet. The composer wrote the opus in 1842 during the extraordinary creative period after his marriage (1840) with pianist Clara Wieck, the love of his life. Fascinated with the composition Clara often performed it throughout her life. 

Grieg’s String Quartet No 1 in G minor, Op. 27 is a very poetical chamber work. Without offending traditional form, Grieg developed a new colourist – almost orchestral – quartet style, which enjoyed great popularity in the 19th c. and the beginning of the 20th c. According to the composer, this account of Norwegian nature resonates with the spiritual world of a man. 

Founded in 1968, Čiurlionis Quartet marked its 50th creative anniversary last year. In 1990, the ensemble was among the first to receive the prestigious Lithuanian National Arts and Culture Prize, the highest award in Lithuania. The winner of international competitions, the Quartet has appeared in the world’s major concert venues and festivals. 

In recent years the collective represented Lithuanian culture in the USA, UAE, Silk Road festival in China, St Magnus International Festival in Scotland, Pražské Jaro in Czech Republic, as well as at the Lithuanian culture season opening events in Cracow, presented baroque music programmes in the International Music Festival Le strade d’Europa. Lithuania – Italy in Lithuania and Italy, initiated original classical and jazz music projects in Lithuania, participated in different multi-genre concerts from e/q, electronics for quartet to tango with Tania Naranjo and Minna Weurlander international duo. Čiurlionis Quartet took active part in the events of the Centennial of the Restored State of Lithuania at home and abroad. 

This afternoon the Quartet shares the stage with Simona Zajančauskaitė, one of the most active young generation pianists. A winner of many international competitions, she gives recitals and collaborates with diverse chamber ensembles. She has taken part in festivals in Russia, Estonia, Germany, France, Belgium, Switzerland and Austria. Since 2007, together with her sister violinist Justina she has organised Chamber Music Festival in their native Rokiškis. S. Zajančauskaitė was honoured with the Prize of Valdas Adamkus, the President of the Republic of Lithuania.

Ticket prices
16-21 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: