Back to home page   Performers   ČIURLIONIS QUARTET   Events archive  
Quartets Phoenixes

Quartets Phoenixes

2021 May 19, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Concert Hall, Vilnius
Quartets Phoenixes

WILHELM STENHAMMAR – String quartet No. 2 in C minor, Op. 14
RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS – String quartet No. 1 in G minor

Čiurlionis Quartet, a recipient of the Lithuanian National Prize, always builds their programmes around captivating themes responding to the music events of both Lithuania and various countries of the world, and revives the forgotten and presents the latest works. This time the musicians perform rarely programmed opuses by the 20th-century composers. The performers offer it as a dose of good music and hope that our listeners will rediscover it.

The Swedish composer Wilhelm Stenhammar’s chamber music is considered to be the most important part of his output, but his string quartets have been neglected for some time. Renowned as a pianist, Stenhammar wrote impressive piano quintets and collaborated closely with the Aulin Quartet, the top Swedish string quartet of his day and one of the best then performing in Europe. Thus, the composer had a perfect understanding of the specifics of the string quartet, as well as timbral nuances and technique of the instruments. His second String quartet in C minor, in four movements, was inspired by Beethoven’s legacy (Stenhammar’s unsettling Scherzo quotes the main theme of Scherzo from Beethoven String quartet, Op. 95). This Quartet is considered to be one of Stenhammar’s most significant works. Although full of romantic pathos, this music sounds impressive, vivid and modern.

Englishman Ralph Vaughan Williams’ music blossomed when the composer turned 50. In fact, the composer decided quite late, only at the age of 36, to return to composition studies. Having completed his education with Ravel in Paris, Williams wrote his First string quartet in G minor. Along with noticeable influence of Ravel and Debussy, the opus features striking impressionist element. However, this music also reveals Williams’ imagination and individual voice, especially in the finale, which is marked by vigour and folkish nature. Here the energy, having briefly subsided in the fugato episode, bursts out with full power in the virtuoso ending.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: