Back to home page   Performers   ČIURLIONIS QUARTET   Events archive  
Quartet Centuries

Quartet Centuries

2019 September 22, Sunday, 15.00
Trakai Castle Great Hall, Trakai
Quartet Centuries

JOSEPH HAYDN – String quartet in F major, Op. 77 No. 2 (Hob. III:82)
MIKALOJUS KONSTANTINAS ČIURLIONIS – Canons in C minor, VL 216a and in D major, VL 217a; Fugues in G major, VL 81 and F sharp minor, VL 82
FELIX MENDELSSOHN-BARTHOLDY – String quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80

Admired for centuries, the string quartet genre remains a surprising phenomenon due to the variety of styles and seemingly inexhaustible ideas it offers. In Quartet Centuries the Čiurlionis Quartet, one of the determined champions of it in Lithuania, invites to examine a little fraction of this immense treasure. The concert programme features a range of opuses by different composers ranging from Haydn, dubbed the father of classical quartet, to Teisutis Makačinas, a contemporary Lithuanian composer of academic and entertainment music. Last year he has celebrated his anniversary. Concerts dedicated to this occasion included his Reflection for string orchestra inspired by the motive from Juozas Naujalis’ In monte Oliveti. This afternoon, the audience will presented with its chamber ensemble version. Čiurlionis Quartet will also offer an opus by Mendelssohn, the illustrious romanticist, and canons and fugues by Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis, the composer of the first Lithuanian string quartet.

Ticket prices
10, 12 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: