Back to home page   Performers   ČIURLIONIS QUARTET   Events archive  
Romanticists from Poland

Romanticists from Poland

2017 March 5, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius
Romanticists from Poland

JULIUSZ ZARĘBSKI – Piano quintet in G minor, Op. 34
ZYGMUNT NOSKOWSKI – String quartet No. 1, Op. 9

Čiurlionis Quartet, a recipient of the Lithuanian National Prize, is an ardent initiator of original projects of classical and jazz music, enjoys appearances in settings of diverse genres. List of the Quartet’s stage partners includes Belgian clarinettist Eddy Vanoosthuyse, pianists Jurgis Karnavičius, Gabrielius Alekna and Petras Geniušas, Baltic Guitar Quartet, Jazz Island Ensemble to name but a few. This afternoon the Quartet shares the stage with pianist Gytis Cinauskas. After graduating from the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre (assoc. Prof. Jurgis Bialobžeskis) he furthered his education in the University of Music and Performing Arts (Prof. Käte Wittlich) in Graz (Austria) and McGill University (Prof. Antonio Lysy) in Montreal (Canada). As a soloist, accompanist and chamber musician (he has collaborated with over 100 Lithuanian and international performers) he appeared in various countries, premiered numerous works by Lithuanian and foreign composers. This afternoon the pianist and the Quartet will acquaint the audience with unknown opuses. Juliusz Zarębski, a Polish composer and pianist active in the second-half of the 19th century, studied in Vienna and Rome where he received instructions from Franz Liszt himself! Zarębski focused on his performing career giving concerts throughout Europe and later becoming the Professor of Brussels Conservatoire. The Piano quintet in G minor, Op. 34, composed just before his death and dedicated to Liszt, is regarded as one of his most significant compositions. Yet another Polish romanticist violinist and composer Zygmunt Noskowski studied under renowned composition pedagogue Friedrich Kiel in Berlin. Upon returning to Warsaw he divided his time between composing, teaching and article writing. He is considered to be the father of Polish symphonic music and mentor to many a young composer. Noskowski’s String quartet No 1, Op. 9 combines elements of Polish folk music and the stylistic features favoured by European composers. 

Ticket prices
5, 7 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: