Only Vienna

2018 April 15, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius
Only Vienna

JOSEPH HAYDN – String quartet in B flat major, Op. 76 No. 4, Hob.III:78
ANTON WEBERN – Langsamer Satz (The Slow Movement)
FRANZ SCHUBERT – String quartet No. 14 in D minor, D. 531 (Der Tod und das Mädchen)

Čiurlionis Quartet, a recipient of the Lithuanian National Prize, always offers tempting programmes abounding with new ideas. On the other hand, the Quartet pays great attention to sharing its long-term experience and communication of its artistic priorities. Like many other Lithuanian musicians, Čiurlionis Quartet has close cultural ties with Austria. To music connoisseurs this country is associated with Viennese Classics (Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven), with Franz Schubert, a Viennese whose music overstepped into another century, the New Viennese School (Schönberg, Berg, Webern), that 130 years later left an outstanding imprint in the modern music history. Čiurlionis Quartet’s programme presents examples from Viennese music treasury. The members of the Quartet are perfectly familiar with the Austrian music culture – Gediminas Dačinskas and Darius Dikšaitis lived, worked and studied there, while Gleb Pyšniak taking over the long-standing cellist Saulius Lipčius studied and pursued performing career for nine years there. Thus, the Vienna music context will serve as a setting to an important switch in the life of the Čiurlionis Quartet – according to S. Lipčius, he hands over his position to Pyšniak, a cellist seasoned in Austria.  

Ticket prices
5, 7 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: