Back to home page   Performers   ČIURLIONIS QUARTET   Events archive  
Čiurlionis Quartet and Lukas Geniušas

Čiurlionis Quartet and Lukas Geniušas

2020 April 22, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius

The concert moves to 2020 12 29. Tickets remain valid

Čiurlionis Quartet and Lukas Geniušas

FAUSTAS LATĖNAS, String quartet No 2 In Loving Memory
GEORGE GERSHWIN, Lullaby for strings
CÉZAR FRANCK, Piano quintet in F minor, M.7

This concert is an extraordinary opportunity to once more enjoy the performance of internationally admired pianist Lukas Geniušas and Čiurlionis Quartet, one of the most prominent representatives of the chamber music genre. The Quartet offers audience’s favourite opuses by Lithuanian composers: the lush, dramatic String Quartet No. 3 by Anatolijus Šenderovas, who passed away last year, and Faustas Latėnas’ melodious String Quartet No. 2 In Loving Memory, which can be considered as the leader in popularity among the works of the Lithuanian quartet genre. Gershwin’s Lullaby, a work of extraordinary subtlety, revealing completely different Gershwin than we know from the radiant Rhapsody in Blue, blends in seamlessly with the programme. The concert culminates with César Franck’s Piano quintet in F minor in which Čiurlionis Quartet shares the stage with Lukas Geniušas. It is the composer’s late opus, intoxicating with lyricism inspired by sincere love for nature. The quintet reflects Franck’s philosophical depth, which blends in with the sensual and mental balance of the Latin tradition and also the subtle taste and radiance of French music.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: