Back to home page   Performers   ČIURLIONIS QUARTET   Events archive  
An Afternoon with Mozart

An Afternoon with Mozart

2020 October 18, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius
NIJOLĖ DOROTĖJA BENIUŠYTĖ (harpsichord; Italy, Lithuania)
An Afternoon with Mozart

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – String quartet No. 21 in D major, K. 575 (Prussian)
LUIGI GIACHINO – Quintet for harpsichord and string quartet Navigando (premiere, 2019)
GIOVANNI SOLLIMA - Sonnets and Rondo for string quartet;
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Concerti for harpsichord and strings: No. 1 in D major, KV 107, No. 2 in G major, KV 107

“Why do we have to choose constantly: Bach or Mozart, an instrumental concerto or quartet, finally, coffee or tea? It is even more difficult when one is facing forced opposition: old against new, Mozart against Salieri or Žalgiris against Rytas. And after all, we so eagerly choose an aperitif before a meal, a prelude before a fugue, even a fairy tale before sleep! In the vastness of dialectics, the music lover is overwhelmed with doubt. And even an experienced professional as if under spell of sirens gets enticed by obsolete clichés, leading to less dangerous shallows of interpretation. But with music, everything is simpler. All you have to do is take a closer and benevolent look and discover new horizons.

So, this musical afternoon we will do everything differently. Together with an excellent harpsichordist Nijolė Dorotėja Beniušytė, we will perform Mozart’s Concerts for harpsichord and orchestra . We will celebrate the world premiere of Italian contemporary composer Luigi Giachino – his quintet Navigando (Swimming) like a life’s metaphor will outspread through three elements of the opus, three sensations: Orizzonte (Horizon), Notturno (Nocturne) and Sole sull’acqua (Sun on the Water). Next to it, Mozart’s Quartet KV 575 will sparkle like an instrumental concerto and Giovanni Sollima Sonnets and rondo.

Don’t bother asking yourself whether to go or not. Just choose who to go with. Of course, to the afternoon with Mozart”, invites the Čiurlionis Quartet.

Ticket prices
8 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: