Back to home page   What's on   Series   Family series   Previous programmes   2016  


2016 April 17, Sunday, 12.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Undergraduate and graduate students of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre:
With the participation of musicologist VIKTORAS GERULAITIS

JEAN SIBELIUS – Concerto for violin and orchestra in D minor, Op. 47, 1st mvt.
MAX BRUCH – Kol Nidrei, Op. 47
IGOR STRAVINSKY – Firebird Suite
JOHANNES BRAHMS – Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, Op. 77, 3rd mvt.
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Egmont Overture, Op. 84

The Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society pursues a special tradition – Atžalynas concert series, a platform for young musicians. This afternoon four young talents, winners of various international competitions, students at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre, share the stage with the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, one of Lithuania’s foremost music collectives.

Violinist Julija Ivanovaitė is a member of NICO (New Ideas Chamber Orchestra) with which she has given concerts in Leipzig, London, Kiev, Berlin, Vienna, Washington DC, Los Angeles and New York. She has collaborated with the Latvian National and National M.K. Čiurlionis School of Arts symphony orchestras.

Cellist Evaldas Petkus is a member of Festivo String Quartet and the Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre orchestra. In 2012, he took part in Norden International Youth Orchestra’s project in Norway and Finland.

Violinist Rūta Mažolytė has appeared with Kremerata Baltica Chamber Orchestra as well as the Lithuanian National and Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre symphony orchestras. In 2009, she received Queen Morta Prize, and in 2012 – an Honorary Diploma from Dalia Grybauskaitė, President of the Republic of Lithuania. 

Conductor Karolis Variakojis formed Synaesthesis Contemporary Music Ensemble with which he has given many concerts, taken part in various contemporary music festivals and projects. In addition, the young conductor works with Svajonė Youth Symphony Orchestra in Alytus. This afternoon Variakojis is to face a true challenge: in addition to other compositions he will lead the LNSO in Beethoven’s Egmont Overture. 

Ticket prices
3, 4, 6 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: