The Sluice Gate Opens!

Closing of the festival
2017 November 25, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
(artistic director and principal conductor Modestas Pitrėnas)
Soloist IGNAS MAKNICKAS (piano)
the laureate of the First National LAMT and LISZTuania competition Lisztofonija 2017
The Sluice Gate Opens!

JEAN SIBELIUS – Symphonic poem Finland (Finlandia), Op. 26
JEAN SIBELIUS – Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 105
FRYDERYK CHOPIN – Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

The symbolic title The Sluice Gate Open! the festival’s closing concert testifies to tonight’s soloist Ignas Maknickas, a young Lithuanian pianist born in California, a graduate of the National M.K. Čiurlionis School of Art (assoc. prof. Albina Šikšniūtė). Professor Mūza Rubackytė has been his professional guide since he was nine years old; for almost a decade he has been supported by Mstislav Rostropovich Charity and Support Foundation “Support for Lithuanian children”. Currently, Maknickas continues his education under prof. Joanna MacGregor at the Royal Academy of Music in London.  

Tonight led by Martynas Staškus the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra offers Finnish composer Jean Sibelius’ symphonic music – transparent and powerful, austere and pungent, a symbol of “the land of a thousand lakes”. In addition, the programme features Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto, dubbed one of the pinnacles of piano technique. However, it could also be described as a lyrical poem dominated by a flow of lofty, peaceful and tender emotions with the piano’s unending melodies and lacework passages pouring over the symphony orchestra.

Concert partner – PI „Vilniaus klubas“

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: