Coffee Cantata

2017 March 12, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design , Vilnius
SIMONA LIAMO (soprano)
Coffee Cantata

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach

The third program of the 6th J. S. Bach Music Festival features Orchestral suite No 1 in C major and Coffee Cantata (Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht) for soprano, tenor, bass and instrumental ensemble. “The melodies of dance suites are imbued with the elegance and grace that has been forgotten in our world. This is an ideal symbol of rococo art. Their perfect charm projects both power and gracefulness”, wrote Albert Schweitzer, the philosopher and Bach researcher. The suites are dressed in colourful orchestral attire, while the elegant rhythm and strong pulse put across the eternal beauty of Bach’s music.

The composer wrote both church and secular cantatas. It is in the latter that we see good-humoured Bach enjoying a witty joke. The cantata, which is also known as short comic opera, was commissioned by Zimmerman’s coffee house in Leipzig. It is the first music composition glorifying coffee! At the time most Germans were stuck to their traditional beverage – beer, but the young generation cared for coffee. Mister Schlendrian (literally: Stick in the Mud) viewed coffee drinking as a bad habit, but Lieschen, his daughter, was not discouraged even when threatened to be left without a dowry. Her aria encapsulates the essence of the cantata: “Ah! How sweet coffee tastes, more delicious than a thousand kisses, milder than muscatel wine!” 

Ticket prices
5, 7 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: