Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Vilnius String Quartet and Golda Vainberg-Tatz

Vilnius String Quartet and Golda Vainberg-Tatz

2018 October 24, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Vilnius String Quartet and Golda Vainberg-Tatz

JOHANNES BRAHMS – Piano quartet in G minor, No. 1, Op. 25
CÉSAR FRANCK – Piano quintet in F minor, Op. 14

Vilnius String Quartet shares the stage with its faithful colleague and partner, pianist Golda Vainberg-Tatz. A former Vilnius resident, graduate of M.K. Čiurlionis School of Arts, S.Rubin Music Academy (Israel), Manhattan and Juilliard schools of music (USA), Vainberg-Tatz is a winner numerous competitions. The pianist has given recitals in Europe, Israel and the USA, her concerts get radio and TV broadcasts around the world.

The pianist has given concerts in Weill Recital Hall, Kaufman Hall and Merkin Hall in New York, Glen Gould Hall in Toronto, Tchaikovsky Conservatory Hall in Moscow, Jerusalem Music Centre and Tel Aviv Museum of Art. As a soloist she has collaborated with Lithuanian National SO, Shanghai Philharmonic SO, Ann Arbor Michigan SO, Cincinnati SO as well as Raanana sinfonietta, Lithuanian and Moscow chamber orchestras.

Robert Schumann’s dictum “Brain errs, but feelings – never!” served as motto for many a romanticist composer. Chamber music opuses were Brahms’ most favourite genre throughout his life. The composer wrote three piano quartets. Featured on tonight’s programme, his First Piano Quartet abounds with thematic variety, romantic imagery and rich mood palette spanning from tragic pathetics and distressing anxiety to joyous Hungarian (Gypsy) intonations. The Quartet was premiered in Budapest in 1867 with the composer at the piano.

César Franck’s majestic figure stands somewhat adrift from the composers active in the second half of the 19th century. At the time majority of French composers focused on musical theatre, while Franck invested his creative energies into symphonic and chamber music. His greatest opuses (symphonic compositions, oratorio and chamber ensembles), written in his late creative period (1870–1890), exhibit combination of classic and romantic elements. His Piano Quintet is imbued with genuine love for nature. Here Franck’s philosophical depth coalesces with emotional and rational equilibrium, characteristic of Latin tradition, as well as delicate French musical taste and éclat.

Ticket prices
7, 10, 15, 20 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: